Hiking Up Heaven

Image

Spectacular worship today in two very different settings. At St. Margaret’s, we sang “Be Thou My Vision,” a traditional Irish hymn that was versified by Eleanor Hull for the English hymnal exactly 100 years ago. The melody is wonderful, and kids, if you’re reading this, make sure they sing the last verse at my funeral:

High King of Heaven, thou Heaven’s bright sun,
O grant me its joys after victory is won!
Great heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my vision, O Ruler of all.

Lovely as it is, the real reason I cherish it so is that the first time I heard it, I thought the choir was singing, “Hiking up heaven.” And far be it from me to alter the inspired words of a true classic, but I love the imagery of “my” version.

We then went to Golgota Budapest for the first time, and… dude. It is so cool for us as *very* nascent Hungarian speakers to hear cherished hymns in Magyar. Inspires us to really get it done. Isten áldjon meg!

2 responses to “Hiking Up Heaven

Leave a Reply

